WOD – 11.16.2012

“Clovis”

Run 10 miles
150 burpess pullups
Break it up anyway you want

I am doing this during lunch today at CrossFit LoDo and I plan on breaking it up into 10 rounds of 1 mile run and 15 burpee pullups. Pray for me. My goal is less than 2.5 hours…lol…

Results
Pain…much pain. The first 5 miles the running was the easy part. After the 15 burpee pullups the first 400 meters was sort of tough but the last 3/4 of a mile were easy. So much so that I thought about running 2 miles at a time each time I was completing my last lap and heading into the gym for the burpee pullups. But I decided to stick to my strategy of 10 rounds and kept it up so I didn’t have to do 30 or more burpee pullups at one time.

By mile 7 I started to feel like my feet were stuck in Jell-O. The most I have ever run at one time in my life is the BolderBoulder and that is 6.2 miles (10k). I have walked 36 holes of golf plenty of times and that is maybe 12-14 miles of walking but that covers a good 11-12 hours of time. So when I was into mile 7 my body started to scream a bit.

By mile 9 the burpee pullups were clearly the easier task. I really started to make sure I got some water when I went into the gym and I think the fact that I didn’t take in enough water earlier might have cost me a bit in the hamstring area…

By mile 10 I was walking once or twice each lap. My lungs felt great but my hammy’s did not. They started to get really, really tight.

I completed it in 2:08 and spent a good 30 minutes stretching. Rolling out, basic hamstring stretches on the ground, GHD back extensions and just relaxing. When I took my shower I could really feel the tightness behind my knees.

As I write this it is about 90 minutes after I got done and I feel fine. I wonder how I will feel tomorrow morning??

4 comments on “WOD – 11.16.2012

  1. RunToInspire says:

    HOLY! That’s brutal..

  2. […] If you are trying to lose weight; start running. Start now. Today. Get the couch to 5k program and STICK WITH IT! Don’t give up. I distinctly remember the first time the couch to 5k program I did called for 10 minutes of running and I couldn’t do it. I had to struggle to run for 10 minutes straight. Now I can run 6 miles (or more). […]

  3. […] Just do burpess around the track. No time limit, take as long as needed. That is sort of how I felt when I did “Clovis”. You know, a 10 mile run and 150 burpee pullups? I thought I could take my time, get it done and […]

Leave a Reply

