Box review: CrossFit Durango

CrossFit Durango is not easy to find even when you are sitting right in front.

CrossFit Durango is not easy to find even when you are sitting right in front.

The family and I made a trip around Colorado. In 26 or 28 years living in Colorado I had never been to Durango or pretty much anywhere south and west of Alamosa (and I was at the Sand Dunes when I was much, much younger) or south of Grand Junction – and the only time I have been in Grand Junction was driving through on my way to Las Vegas when I was closer to 21 than I am now. It was great to see that part of the state. Durango seems really cool and the passes we had to drive over as we left Durnago and headed north to Grand Junction were awesome. My wife hated them as she is afraid of heights, but I thought they were cool.

At first, during the trip, I figured I would use the exercise rooms at the hotel to get my lift on. I did this the first few days (WOD 1 and WOD 2 out of the hotel) but then my wife suggested I look for CrossFit boxes on our trip and she didn’t have to suggest twice!

I Google’d CrossFit in Durango and was surprised to learn that CrossFit Durango was right in the same area we had been walking around window shopping earlier that day. When I arrived the following morning at 0’dark AM I realized why I hadn’t noticed it – very little signage on the outside.

The inside of the box is pretty. No other way to put it. With the polished wood flooring for lifting evenly spaced out and spanning the width of the gym it looks really good. The wood paneling on the walls used for wall balls or whatever was obviously placed there by some sort of interior designer and it is by far the prettiest box I have been to.

The pullup bars and racks are on the right as you walk in otherwise all of the plates, kettle bells, dumbbells, etc are hidden away in the back, eliminating any sort of clutter feel. All the mobility tools, PVC, wall balls, etc are also neatly stored in the back which gives the gym a clean and open feeling despite its small floor space. I didn’t really notice how small it was until we did the WOD at which time logistics got a bit complicated but the coach made it work.

Durango insideOne of the cool things I learned at CF Durango was that a Tabata doesn’t have to just be four minutes long. I know, it seems really obvious when you think about it but every Tabata I have done other than A Lotta Tabata is four minutes and A Lotta Tabata  is four minute segments clumped together. As part of the warmup drill we did a 10 minute Tabata but each 20 second interval was something different and the coach called out what that 20 second segment would be just before the segment started. We started with single jump ropes, then went one legged, backwards jump rope, double unders, etc and then moved on to situps, pushups, squats and a few other drills. It was a nice, different way to warmup. I made note of it to use later.

The coach was super nice and my classmates were also very friendly. One of them even put away my weights when I was done!

In some sort of theme CFD had the KB Snatch in their WOD which was also one of the WODs I did in Jacksonville. What makes this notable is that I don’t recall ever doing it otherwise in a WOD. I have done it by myself at the gym, but never at a CF box except for these two WODs.

The WOD was three RFT of 20 KB Snatches and an 80 feet of lunges with a 45lb plate overhead. The snatches were easy and I was cruising through this WOD with very little issue until that last 80 feet of lunges. I could really start to feel it in my arms and maybe it was the extra 1000 feet or so of altitude but my lungs really started to burn. After the WOD it took me longer than usual to recover and all I can figure is that it was because of the increased altitude. It sucked because I was going to finish the WOD first in the class but two guys passed me on the final 80 feet.

Another CrossFit box visited and another great experience. …and a few ideas on how I can decorate my house…

Leave a Reply

