WOD – 12.26.2012

Went to CrossFit Crush this morning – good people there, so it seems.

Warmup
PVC pass throughs
3 RNFT of
10 squats
10 pushups
10 hollow rocks

WOD #1
EMOTM for 10 minutes of 5 back squats with the “rest” holding the squat at the bottom. Use weight if possible.

WOD #2 – hang with me here, it was a complicated one
Max handstand pushups
Rest 30 seconds
3 RFT (5 min cap) of:
30 double unders (or 90 singles)
15 pullups
Rest 30 seconds
Max handstand pushups
Rest 30 seconds
3 RFT (5 min cap) of:
30 double unders (or 90 singles)
15 KB swings 55/35
Rest 30 seconds
Max handstand pushups

Results
The squat holds were painful, plain and simple. I used a 45# bar and by the time the 10th minute of holding the squat was done I didn’t even want to stand up with the weight, I just dropped the bar. I quickly realized that the best way to do this was to take the 5 squats slooooooowwwww so you didn’t have to squat hold at the bottom for very long. I left myself about 30 seconds, each minute, to hold the squat at the bottom. It was tough.

I didn’t do handstand pushups and did handstand holds instead. In just the last month I have went from not really being able to hold a handstand to holding my first handstand today for 30 seconds. And the only reason I got out of the handstand today was because I felt like all the blood in my body was in my face. I think I could have stayed up longer but felt like I needed to get down before I passed out. Not much longer and I will have handstand pushups in my tool belt.

I did the 90 singles and didn’t really attempt to do doubles because the 1st 3 jump ropes I tried were all too short. Good news is I got an Again Faster gift certificate for Christmas and that is paying for a high quality jump rope that I can take with me to WOD everyday. I hope a consistent, high quality jump rope will help me tackle DUs once and for all.

The 2nd WOD took me just a bit over 12 minutes but it is a hard one to score since the max handstand pushups will be different for everyone. I was not quite able to complete the 3 RFT of singles and pullups in the 5 minute cap. I got to my 12th pullup of the 3rd round and hit the cap. The KB rounds were easy as KB’s are the one thing I seem to be good at…

I finished with a few squat cleans and then a few power cleans on my own.

Leave a Reply

