Burpees and food

It’s a new year! And it’s time to keep getting better.

I wouldn’t say I have any sort of resolution, per se, for 2013, but rather a few goals.

  • I want a muscle-up. I need a muscle-up. I will get a muscle-up. I suppose for this to be a true goal I need to set a date to which I want this muscle-up. I’ll set it for February 14th. The perfect day since I am obsessively in love with this movement.
  • I want to begin, at the very least, training CrossFit. I am getting my Level 1 certificate at the end of the month and am going to try to open my own box in 2013. With make 2013 very challenging, but rewarding.
  • Continue to get healthier, which leads me to…

I am doing another Whole 30. There are many folks doing one from January 1st – January 30th. Need to get back to eating real food and more importantly stop eating sugar. I was doing really well until about the last two weeks in December where I fell off the truck, rolled off of the road and over a cliff into a pile of M&M cookies.

I will be tracking my food logs this time around and they can be found under the “Nutrition” button above. Currently I only have one page under that menu option but as this month progresses I will add sub-menus for each week.

Finally, I am doing a lot of burpees, for distance and for charity. I have wanted to do the burpee mile for quite a while now and I figure doing it on my birthday (or just a few days following my birthday) is as good a time to do it as any. Check out the “Burpees for Charity” menu option above for more information. More information can also be found here.

I have a total of 24 cents donated per burpee as of today and I would like that number to get a lot higher. I would love to be able to give St. Jude Children’s Hospital a check for $1,000. Let’s make it happen! Shoot me an email with your pledge and when I am done I will provide the total number of burpees and you send me money via paypal or send a check made out to St. Jude’s and I PROMISE to donate 100% of it to St. Jude’s. If I don’t may I get cancer.

Here’s to a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

