Coca Cola lies about the health benefits of its beverages. Really?

In a post that should be about as shocking as finding out that it snows in January we find out that Coca Cola is saying that Vitaminwater is not healthy, nor should consumers actually believe it is.

For those that read this blog you should know I try my best (and fail sometimes) to eat only real foods, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that I don’t drink Coke. I also hate – HATE – purchasing water. Water should be free. We live in a country as profitable and advanced as this one and I should be able to get free water. I also hate – HATE – flavored water. I want water, I don’t need anything else in the water to add to it…more importantly, I don’t need anything to add to it to make it LESS like water. Enter Vitaminwater. I have never bought it or drank it as it goes against two of my basic water principles.

OK, maybe those are my only two water principles.

And I didn’t even know I had water principles until just now.

Vitamin water makes a “low cal” water. WATER SHOULDN’T HAVE ANY CALORIES!

If you drink this entire bottle of “water” it is the same as eating half of an apple.

If the “low cal” stuff has calories, what is in the fully leaded versions?

In this flavor of “water” you will notice the second ingredient is fructose, or sugar. We have ourselves sugar “water” with some vitamins added. If you drink this bottle of water it is the equivalent of eating a banana, except the banana is real.

I really like that little tag line “enjoy cold. drink better water.” Thanks, I think I will. I will get it from the faucet. Or better yet I will get it from the filter on my refrigerator.

The vast majority of the public in the United States are idiots when it comes to their health and what they should eat. And most of those folks simply don’t care – they just eat what tastes good. A manufacturer could make a product called “Low Fat Pizza” and people would actually think it could be good for them.

I’m happy to see a non-profit taking it to a major manufacturer. We need more of this. It is time the public does something about the lies that are fed to use through marketing. The government sure as hell isn’t going to help us.

***Time passes and I search on Google, out of curiosity***

Holy crap! There is a “low fat pizza”!?

Ingredients:

Bread (bleached enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, rice flour. contains 2% or less of soybean and/or cottonseed oils, wheat gluten, salt, sugar, cultured wheat flour, yeast, soy lecithin, soy flour), tomato puree (water, tomato paste), reduced fat mozzarella cheese (cultured milk, skim milk, modified cornstarch*, salt, vitamin a palmitate, enzymes (*ingredient not in regular mozzarella cheese)), pepperoni (pork, beef, salt, spices, dextrose, lactic acid starter culture, oleoresin of paprika, flavorings, sodium ascorbate, natural smoke flavor, sodium nitrite, bha, bht, citric acid), water, sausage (pork, water, spices, salt, sugar, flavorings, bha, bht, citric acid), mushrooms, grated parmesan, romano made from cow’s milk&asiago cheeses (cultured milk, salt, enzymes), seasoning (maltodextrin, modified food starch, sugar, salt, dextrose, spices&natural flavors, dried garlic, citric acid, xanthan gum, sodium benzoate), green peppers, red peppers, onions, soybean oil, garlic powder.

This pizza is about 98% flour (aka, gluten) and the first ingredients after the “contains less than 2% of” are soy products. If you are a man you want to avoid soy like the plague. Soy is estrogen and screws with your testosterone levels. Then the product just throws in some more gluten for the hell of it.

No thanks.

Leave a Reply

