WOD – 01.28.2013

Nice and long

Nice and long

Nice welt

Nice welt

What is more CrossFit: ripped blisters from pullups or shin scrapes from box jumps? I don’t know. I hate both. I think I hate torn hands more because of the shower factor. Sure, scraped shins hurt in the shower but NOTHING like a good hand tear. Those hurt.

Today I got my shin pretty darn good. We were doing 30 inch box jumps as part of the WOD and I got too quick with my rebounds and nailed myself. But you should see that box! I think I won…

I even had high socks on and they didn’t help at all, except they caught the skin so it didn’t end up on the floor…I included a few pictures and made them thumbnails so I don’t totally gross out anyone. Click of you want a larger view. And this is after ice, peroxide, a shower and about 2 hours after it happened. The good thing about shin scrapes is that they don’t impact the rest of the day. Blisters can bother you throughout the day but shin scrapes are OK after that first shower.

If this hasn’t happened to you either, 1. you haven’t been CrossFitting long enough, 2. you aren’t challenging yourself with a high enough box, or 3. you aren’t moving fast enough. If you are working your ass off and challenging yourself this is bound to happen. It is a right of passage. It is failure and it is weakness leaving the body. Embrace it when it happens. Ladies, if you really love CrossFit, say goodbye to those smooth perfect legs. You will be more proud of these anyway.

Today’s WOD was

Warmup
Samson stretch, OHS w PVC, pushups, pullups and good mornings x2

Fun
Handstands and handstand walks. I took two “steps” today handstand walking. That’s right, new PR!

WOD
10-1 of:
HSPU
Box jump
Deadlift

Extra
5×5 push jerk
6 EMOTM of 1 clean and 5 push jerk

Results
Well, the WOD had a slight pause in the middle of it. I think it was the round of 7 or 8 when I nailed the box. Of course I finished! I completed the WOD in 14:35 I think and that was with maybe 4-6 of my HSPU’s being all the way to the ground! More improvement! It was literally in December when I couldn’t hardly even get a handstand against a wall and today I took “steps” in a handstand walk and did 4-6 full range of motion HSPU’s. Getting better is fun. Even if your shin is bleeding through your socks.

The box jumps was prescribed at 30inchs and the DL was 225. 225 is still heavy for me and my form breaks down at this rep count and load. I need to keep working on my DL form.

For the extra I wanted to put to use some of what I learned this weekend at my Level 1 class and wanted to work on the jerk. For the 5×5 jerk I did: 5@135#, 5@185#, 5@185#, 4@195# and 2@195# and my shoulders were done. After the HSPU and all the “active shoulder work” this weekend I was spent. But my I felt good so I dropped the weight to 135# and did the 6 EMOTM of 1 clean to the rack position followed by 5 jerks.

Then I had fun stretching while watching the next class play with handstands and handstand walks.

One comment on “WOD – 01.28.2013

  1. […] the bar straight up (move your face), but the push press and push jerk I learned some good stuff (and why I did so much extra today involving the jerk). I have always striven to keep my knees from not advancing past my toes, but in the push press and […]

Leave a Reply

