Shocking! Taco Bell doesn’t like vegetables

Taco Bell pulled a TV advertisement because it misrepresented how the fast food garbage maker feels about vegetables. I don’t eat Fast Food. The last time I visited a drive thru was on our trip around Colorado and under bizarre circumstances with our scheduling, kids sleeping, drive time, etc, I had to eat a McDonald’s chicken sandwich. That was the end of November. I haven’t eaten the slop at Taco Bell in, I’m guessing, six plus years ago. The last time I recall going to Taco Bell was with my dad when we used to work at the same company and he has been retired for at least five or six years.

The most distinct memory of Taco Bell that I have is from High School. I remember I had sixth and eighth period off and used sixth period for lunch. I had to go back to school for one class (I think each period was like 45 minutes with a five minute break to get to the next class) and then was off for the day. If I ate Taco Bell for lunch I had to rush to get home after seventh period because I had to use the bathroom. If you get my drift.

Even when I used to go out and drink and what-not when I was younger I didn’t like Taco Bell after a night out. It just never sat well with me.

Now that I am eating much, much healthier I avoid any sort of restaurant that doesn’t require me to get off my ass to go inside and order. If you can get your food while not moving your bottom you seriously need to rethink what it is you are eating.

We shouldn’t be surprised that Taco Bell doesn’t like veggies. Look at what’s in their avocado dressing:

Soybean Oil, Water, Avocado Pulp (Avocado, Water, Food Starch (Corn), Sugar, Salt, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Alginate, Citric Acid, Xanthan Gum, Granulated Onion, Ascorbic Acid, Granulated Garlic), Buttermilk , Distilled Vinegar, Egg Yolk, Sugar, Dry Buttermilk, Spices, Salt, Natural Flavor, Lactic Acid, Dehydrated Garlic, Lemon Juice Concentrate, Xanthan Gum, Dehydrated Onion, Propylene Glycol Alginate, Potassium Sorbate Added as Preservative, Lime Juice Concentrate, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Calcium Disodium EDTA Added to Protect Flavor, Blue # 1. CONTAINS: MILK, EGGS

That is something that could be made to taste REALLY good and be REALLY good for you, but they destroy it by immediately starting with soybean oil. And what is avocado pulp? I have never opened an avocado and found pulp. And even if I did find pulp inside my avocado why would I add corn starch to it?? Sugar, xanthan gum, propylene glycol alginate…what the hell? Why can’t it just be like avocado and olive oil or something?

How about the “premium” guacamole?

Avocado, Water, Tomato, Onion, Jalapeno, Salt, Cilantro, Lemon Juice, Ascorbic or Erythorbic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Alginate

At least the major ingredients are OK, but why add the crap at the end? I know why – they mass make it and don’t make it locally so they need to preserve it. Garbage.

How about something as simple as seasoned beef?

Beef, Water, Seasoning [Cellulose, Chili Pepper, Onion Powder, Salt, Oats (Contains Wheat), Maltodextrin (Corn, Potato, Tapioca), Soy Lecithin, Tomato Powder, Sugar, Soybean Oil, Sea Salt, Yeast Extract (Contains Gluten), Spices, Garlic Powder, Citric Acid, Caramel Color, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Potassium Chloride, Cocoa Powder Processed with Alkali, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Trehalose, Modified Corn Starch, Inactivated Yeast, Lactic Acid, Torula Yeast, Natural Smoke Flavor], Salt, Sodium Phosphate, Less Than 2% Beef Broth, Potassium Phosphate, Potassium Lactate. CONTAINS: SOYBEANS, WHEAT.

Cellulose, Maltodextrin?, soy lecithin, extra gluten (apparently), disodium inosinate/guanylate and a host of other non-meat substances.

I could go on and on, of course, so I’ll stop.

Count me as one of those who would LOVE to see a nice vegetable tray with a nice variety of vegetables at any Super Bowl party I attend.

Leave a Reply

