My CrossFit Open 13.2 experience

I didn’t give myself any time this week to get nervous about the CrossFit Open workout – I did it about 15 minutes after it was announced. In fact, I might have completed 10 minutes of presses, deadlifts and box jumps before Annie and Lindsay completed their 10 min AMRAP.

For those that don’t know, 13.2 is a 10 minute AMRAP (as many rounds/reps as possible) of five shoulder to overhead (115/75), 10 deadlifts (115/75) and 15 box jumps (24/20). That is a really light weight for most so this is an all out sprint. Who can keep up a torrid pace the longest?

I knew before I even started that the box jumps would be the most difficult movement for myself. I am not great at rebounding and cycling my box jumps so a lot of energy is wasted as I load up at the bottom and spring or jump onto the box. As I watch videos the day after I think, to keep moving in the later rounds, I might try stepping down off of the box as opposed to standing on it, resting, before jumping down. Anything to keep moving.

The presses I did push jerks right from the start. 115 pounds is not heavy for me but I want to fly through the presses and deadlifts to give myself as much time as possible on the box jumps. The box jumps are the long pole in my 13.2 tent.

I finished six rounds and 12 reps (five presses and seven additional deadlifts) last night. I know I can do better than that.

My quads were burning during the workout and that could have been from the heavy thrusters I did on Monday and then the somewhat heavy cleans I did on Tuesday. I also did the workout later in the day and my body is used to working out first thing in the morning. All excuses but I could really feel my legs in the second half of the rounds on the box jumps.

At no point did I break up the shoulder to overheads or the deadlifts, but I have seen evidence that the bar shouldn’t be dropped from the shoulder to overheads because it wastes time.

CrossFit Cuspis is having their official grand opening on Saturday and they are hosting 13.2. Cuspis is owned by Leo, Diana and Spencer, all former CrossFit LoDo folks (Leo, I believe, was part owner in LoDo for at least a period of time). I like Leo and Diana and want to show some support so I will be re-doing 13.2 on Saturday with hopes of completing eight rounds. I am setting my goals high for this, but I think it is achievable if I keep moving on the box jumps and not take long rests while standing on the box.

Me hitting a 36in box jump around early November 2012. About 18 months earlier I struggled to get onto a 12in box.

One comment on “My CrossFit Open 13.2 experience

  1. […] it happened in 13.1 and 13.2 I tend to be a bit optimistic in my original goal. We’ll see if that trend continues today […]

Leave a Reply

