Sunday afternoon cooking

If you read my blog with any regularity you know I like to use Sunday afternoon as a time to jump start my week to ensure I eat healthy. The biggest obstacle to healthy eating is not being prepared. Packing your meals for work is the ONLY way to be successful at eating clean. No matter how hard you try at any restaurant to eat clean you truly really never know what is in that dish you are eating. Did it mix with buttered ingredients? Did it come in contact with gluten? Are those even REAL EGGS?! You can always make extra food every night so you have leftovers, but even in those circumstances sometimes life gets in the way. After work, even if you have time to prepare dinner, you don’t want to prepare extra…or worse you find yourself preparing something in 10 minutes to feed yourself and the kids. Often times those last minute meals, for myself, are eggs or something really quick and easy to make. Can you say burgers with sauteed mushrooms and home made mayo?

Never fear, this Sunday I took a good two to three hours to prepare some food for the week, making dinner for last night and cleaning/cutting vegetables for lunch for the next few days. I am sure to have a solid week eating thanks to Sunday afternoon.

Below are some of the pictures I took. The menu consisted of:

  • Mashed sweet potatoes for post workout or breakfast. I cut up five smallish potatoes and cooked in boiled water for 20 minutes before mashing with cinnamon. After mashed I added a big handful of raisins and shredded coconut thanks to a recommendation from Elisabeth Akinwale. This is perfect post workout because it gives you quality carbs along with replacing critical acids and fats to help your body heal and give you enough energy for the day.
  • Grilled chicken breast. Quick and easy. Three big breasts with some salt a lot of hot pepper flakes because I like it spicy. Cook at 450 near the top of the oven for 15 minutes, flip and re-season and cook for another 15 minutes. Cut these big boys in half so you can either take a half breast or a full breast, depending on what else I pack for lunch for the day. I like these to cut up and top on salad.
  • Speaking of salad: a big helping from Sprouts cleaned in a salad spinner and stored for the week. Gotta clean right away so the lettuce doesn’t get soggy and nasty. Same with the tomatoes and mushrooms. I had leftover diced peppers, chives and olives from last week so I threw them on top of my salad for Monday along with some raisins. So much flavor salad dressing isn’t needed. If it is, just use some balsamic vinegar or maybe some red wine vinegar – but check the red wine to be sure it isn’t full of BS.
  • For dinner I chopped up some carrots and broccoli, tossed with olive oil and garlic salt and cooked at 450 for about 12 minutes before stirring/flipping/mixing/whatever and putting back in the over for another 12 minutes. I like a nice dark char on broccoli to give it a bit of a crunch before taking it from the oven.
  • For protein and fat for dinner my wife had the great idea of taking some Tilapia (wild caught from Sprouts, of course) and wrapping each filet with two pieces of bacon and cooking. They were hard to keep together but when they were done – WIN!
Leave a Reply

