13.5 is done and so am I

Thanks to CrossFit PTZone Mornington for the picture – chest to bar pullups

I did 13.5 on Saturday, and as I wrote the other day; I didn’t really care.

How much didn’t I care? I did Saturday’s prescribed WOD before 13.5 which was a partner 20 minute AMRAP with burpees, front racked lunges, situps and power snatches. I didn’t spend too much time re-warming up or getting the feeling of the 100 pound thruster. I did a few chest to bar pullups and figured that I would be lucky to get 70 reps and it would be a four minute workout. Easy.

Not so much.

I finished the 15 thrusters in about 35 seconds and linked five chest to bar pullups before coming off of the bar. I hit a few more pullups and then I started to have issues getting my chest to physically touch the bar. I had the height for most of my pullups, but didn’t get the contact needed. I am guessing I did 30-40 pullups in the remaining three plus minutes after my thrusters but I only got 14 pullups in which my chest touched the bar. Your math is correct: 29. My pathetic score on 13.5 was 29.

Oh well. The Open was fun and I came out on fire and full of determination but by this fifth week I was much more concerned with regular WODs and just working out.

On Sunday I had more fun doing “deck of cards” by myself (see my April WOD log) than I had prepping and doing 13.5.

The competitive atmosphere at Crush for four of the weeks and Cuspis for the fifth Open WOD was awesome. I went to the Turkey Challenge at MBS last Thanksgiving and my wife said she expected to be at a lot more of those things because I would be competing. I told her I didn’t think so. I didn’t think competing was for me because 1. I am not fit enough and 2. I didn’t think it looked like that much fun. I may have changed my mind.

I don’t see myself winning a bunch of competitions, or any competitions for that matter, but I think I would really like to compete. Maybe not this summer, as it is filling up quickly already with other activities, but maybe next year.

I am looking forward to Barbells for Boobs at Front Range CrossFit at the end of the month. (Going to be a tough weekend as I am also running the 5 mile loop at the Cherry Creek Sneak the day after Barbells for Boobs.)

At the end of the Open my goal was to finish better than half of the men registered for the Open and I did that easily. I met my goal and in looking back my goal might have been too soft, but I did meet my goal. Next year my goal will be to do better than I did this year.

And despite my lack of caring in 13.5 I strongly recommend everyone signing up for the Open in 2014. It is a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

