Feeling so good

Great OHS form – chest up, good midline stabilization, arms/shoulders are locked out, knees out. Nice.

Earlier this week I wrote about how crappy I felt during the workout on Monday due to what I ate over the weekend. After that feeling I knew I had to take a step back and re-evaluate my diet. Not so much because I am gaining weight (I put on five pounds about two weeks ago that just isn’t coming off), but because I hate feeling awful while working out. The first thing I had to rid myself of was soda.

During my first Whole 30 I realized how addicted I had become to soda. The first few days of the Whole 30, even after a good meal, I still felt like I needed something. I felt like something was missing and even though I knew I was full my brain was telling me I needed something more. The more I focused on these feelings the more I realized I wanted a soda really bad. After my first Whole 30 I had rid myself of my addiction to soda and didn’t have but maybe a total of four or five cans of soda between the end of my first Whole 30 and the first of the year (about 6 weeks). This was a big drop in soda consumption from before I started the Whole 30. Then I started my second Whole 30 and in the next few months only had maybe one or two cans.

During the CrossFit Open, for some bizarre reason, I felt the need to reward myself for competing and after a WOD I would go to the gas station and get a Diet Mountain Dew. Well, one thing led to another and I have been back on the diet soda binge lately. It wasn’t as bad as before my Whole 30 but it was bad. In the three or four weeks leading up to Monday I probably averaged 20 ounces of diet soda a day. I think – I know – this was affecting other food choices, as well. My tendency to refuse sweets was not as strong and a few other “cheats” were becoming too common. I was still making progress in the gym but my diet was definitely on the wrong track and I blame it totally on my addiction to soda.

Monday I stopped. I had to. I stopped cold turkey and haven’t had a soda since. I have to admit that even as recently as yesterday I still felt the cravings for a soda, but during my first Whole 30 it took a good four days, maybe five, for those cravings to subside. I have to stay strong and not give in. I will have beer later today, and tomorrow, but I have found that beer on the weekends doesn’t lead to poor choices the rest of the week like soda does.

So no more soda for me. Again.

I started to feel the response in my body due to much better eating this week this morning. We started off with a warmup of 30 burpees followed by two minutes of rest and then another 30 burpees. I was able to do the first 30 burpees in about 1:20 and the second set took just slightly longer as I finished those in about 1:30. Then we moved onto an AMRAP of 10 minutes consisting of three overhead squats, five slam balls and a 200m run. I almost finished six full rounds, which I think is pretty good considering I was using 135lbs for the OHS. I felt good enough that I also did “Jackie” this morning and PR’d by about 90 seconds.

Soda can taste good, but it doesn’t taste as good as the feeling you get when you have a good workout and are satisfied.

But that isn’t why I am feeling so good, it contributes to my feeling good, but isn’t the only reason.

I am in a good place right now. My family is awesome and I love them dearly and they love me back. My kids are an absolutely joy and, as much as I hate to admit this, when I am away from them and I think about their smiling faces it almost makes me cry. I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t see them on a daily basis. My wife is loving CrossFit and she is seeing results and I think she is much happier now than she was a few months ago. Exercise is addicting and the results are even better. The sun is finally showing on a daily basis and the weather is warming up, the grass is green and when I leave early in the morning for CrossFit the birds are chirping. I bought a bike rack for my car yesterday, finally, and I plan on using that on the weekends starting this weekend, possibly, if I have time. We hope to sell our second house that we have been renting and turn a nice profit. Man, life is so freaking good.

I don’t look at life this way often enough. I look at it like this a lot more than I have in the past, but not often enough. Most of us do not. We are so fortunate to live in such a great country with our freedoms and our excessiveness (feeling so good I just made up a new word!). I mean, I have two houses?! I have an amazing family, immediate and extended, and how many people can say they truly enjoy the company of their extended family? I do and I take it for granted.

Life is good! If it isn’t you need to sit down and figure out what you need to do to make it good. Get yourself right. Whether that is starting with a diet and exercise program or just making amends with a lost family member: DO IT!

I read a quote the other day in response to the “life is too short” cliche everyone gives and it said “life isn’t too short, it is the longest thing you will endure”. Well, that is true, right? But goddamn that is pessimistic. I would hate to be the person that thinks like that. Life is too short! Enjoy it!! Do what you got to do to enjoy it more. Take some time this weekend and just sit outside. Grab a cold beverage and just sit. Sit outside and enjoy all the new color that is finally growing and showing itself. Enjoy the warm sun on your skin. Enjoy life.

Man, if feels so freaking good!

Leave a Reply

