And meanwhile in Canada…

Of course, this could easily happen in the US, too….

5 comments on “And meanwhile in Canada…

  1. skyrunner259 says:

    Hmmm… A bit controlling but it’s not the worst idea in the world..

    • traviseses says:

      It’s an idea, but it needs work.
      1. If you eat grains, there are FAR better options than Ritz Crackers, right? Especially since this seems to be driven towards healthy eating. If they want to charge $10 for a piece of whole wheat bread, that makes a little more sense. A little – or way – over the top, but healthier than a sugar bomb disguised as a “grain”.
      2. However, if you are like me and don’t eat any grains and get plenty of carbs from fruits and veggies and plenty of additional calories for life from meat and fats…well…then this is just wrong. My kids are 2 and 4 and I can easily see a difference in their behavior when they get gluten and sugar.

      Hey, who knows, maybe the school gave this lady an option at the beginning of the year to opt out of this program and she totally screwed the pooch and didn’t follow directions? Maybe you could note that your child is gluten intolerant and that you will NOT be packing grains and you would appreciate the school not feeding her/him grains.

      • skyrunner259 says:

        OH yes, I totally agree. As someone who sticks to paleo diet most of the time, I can also vouch for purposely staying away from grains. And yes, ritz crackers aren’t exactly at the top of the list. The lunch listed actually sounds pretty healthy… healthier than what my mom sent me to school with. Haha, it would be hard to find the perfect guidelines to fit all children. Still, it is an interesting thought… I remember so many kids at my school whose parents gave them lunch money, and they would buy fried chicken fingers, French fries, and a coke. I was actually jealous at the time. Lol I guess I should be thankful I ate PB&J all those years..

      • traviseses says:

        Burgers and fries…and pizza…got me through HS and added 50+ pounds…

      • skyrunner259 says:

        Haha and don’t even mention college……

Leave a Reply

