Paleo diet ranks last

Oh, Lord….

The Paleo diet ranked 32nd out of 32 diets ranked by U.S. News & World Report. Here is the link to the article on CNN.com.

I guess not everyone is jumping on the bandwagon. I really don’t care what U.S. News thinks is healthy as they most likely still live and breathe and eat according to the food pyramid which is heavy on grains, but this quote irks me quite a bit:

But U.S. News & World Report’s experts said the Paleo Diet was too restrictive for most people to follow long term, and that it limited some essential nutrients.

Too restrictive? Sometimes things are hard and if you are willing to make a change you can stop eating cheese and bread. But, seriously, how hard is it to follow long term? Stop eating bread, dairy and legumes…that about sums it up, right? There are some quirks, but if you follow those basic guidelines you are good. You can get really picky with cage free eggs, grass fed/finished beef and only free range fish, but if you just stick to the basics it is pretty damn easy to follow. And which essentials are being limited?? Grains, I suppose? What nutrients are missing? I would love to know what I am not getting by eating a wide variety of proteins and vegetables. I supplement with fish oil and vitamin D, otherwise I believe my variety of different colored fruits and vegetables give me all the vitamins I need.

They also cited a lack of research proving the Paleo Diet’s cardiovascular health and weight loss benefits in their ranking.

They didn’t look hard enough. Robb Wolf’s site and Marks Daily Apple each have plenty of good stories outlining not only weight loss, but lots of other benefits by eating Paleo.

The Paleo Diet tied for last place on the list alongside the Dukan diet, which is also a high-protein, low-carbohydrate approach.

It’s not LOW CARB!! Just because I don’t eat bread with every (any) meal does not mean I am restricting my carb intake. I get plenty of carbs via fruits and vegetables. Last time I checked sweet potatoes are full of quality carbohydrates.

*Sigh*

Maybe someday one of these things will do some actual research before blindly ranking things they don’t know anything about.

One comment on “Paleo diet ranks last

  1. Sean says:

    Awesome. More pastured eggs for me!

Leave a Reply

