My daily warmup

I have been wanting to establish a daily warmup that is fairly quick, efficient and does a good job getting me ready to WOD. This is what I came up with. I have been doing it for a few weeks now and I like it. This is a general warmup and I do some movement specific warmup depending on the WOD after this. Give me your thoughts if you think I am missing something.

Start with joint warmup – neck circles (10 circles each direction), shoulder circles (palms down with small to large circles one direction then palms up and small to large opposite direction), elbow circles (10 each direction), shake out my wrists and open/shut fingers rapidly, hip circles (10 each direction, slow and wide stance), knee circles (10 each directions) and finally ankle circles (10 each direction).

Then I do 30 jumping jacks where as I loosen up my goal is to make a solid clap at the top and a solid clap at the bottom behind by butt. I then move immediately into 20 more jumping jacks where I swing my arms front to back, rather than side to side. I try to swing my arms forward and throw my thumbs behind me at the top and swing them hard and down with my pinky fingers pointing behind me at the bottom. I got these from the Matt Chan warmup.

I then do wide leg inch worms where I do 5 pushups, then 4, 3, 2 and 1. I stand with a wide stance and when I walk my hands back after my pushups I walk my hands behind my legs to stretch and hold. Then I stand up and push my hips forward to stretch. Then walk my hands back out for my set of 4 pushups, etc.

Now I move to the GHD and do 10 GHD situps, but do not touch the ground, I’m still loosening up. I then do 10 hip extensions (faster than this video and I really squeeze my butt at the top).

20 walking lunges with back knee making contact with the ground. (LOVE – LOVE the old school CrossFit videos with the death metal. I do mine without any weight.)

And to wrap up I do 10 more GHD situps, this time touching the ground and 10 more hip extensions.

What am I missing?

2 comments on “My daily warmup

  1. Kim says:

    Jogging and air squats?

    • traviseses says:

      I end up doing squats of some sort during my WOD specific warmup as many days I lead off with weighted squats of some sort. But otherwise the lunges get my knees and legs going. The JJ help elevate my heart rate + I move through the second portion fairly quickly to help “get the blood moving”.

      I did try rowing/jogging for my warmup for a while, but I don’t think it did as much as the JJ as they involve loosening up my shoulders, too, along with my legs and heart.

Leave a Reply

