300!!

I have had a few goals for a year or two now: 300 back squat, 400 deadlift, 225 clean, 200 snatch. I have power cleaned 225, but I don’t think I have squat cleaned it. I think I would like to add getting 250 overhead to my goals. I can’t forget a free standing handstand and a muscle-up, too. I am able to hold a free standing handstand for a brief second or two, but I really want to get up and hold it for a nice period of time.

Today I finally hit 300 back squat! Looking at my black book, in April of 2012 I started tracking my back squat and in April of 2012 my max was 185. I have added 115 pounds in just over 2 years. I think that is good? To be honest, I don’t know. What I do know is that if I had been actually TRAINING for more of those 2 years I bet I would have hit 300 sooner.

The 1st 50 pounds or so added to my BS was just doing CrossFit and doing weighted back squats – something I very rarely did prior to doing CrossFit. I did 3 separate Smolov Jr cycles, to varying success. Now, the last 3 months I have been doing OPT programming and that has put on about 20 pounds to my squat in about 3 months.

Either way, it is nice to finally hit 300!

2 comments on “300!!

  1. Sean.Dent says:

    Strong work brother, congrats on the milestone! Well earned.

  2. Dave says:

    Congrats man.

Leave a Reply

