Making a quiche using whatever I have in the kitchen

Cooking for the week does take planning, or at least it makes life a lot easier. However, sometimes you have to make something and just use whatever you have in the house. Tonight I made a quiche using vegetables I had laying around the kitchen for my breakfast for the week. Eating clean definitely takes work and it takes planning. You don’t want to get caught at work with no lunch and before you know it you’re starving and in the cube next to you there is leftover Halloween candy – you’re stuck. Or you get in a rush at work and run to McDonald’s to eat because you need something fast. Plan ahead, prep and put in the effort. If you can put in a few hours of effort at the gym every week you can put in a few hours of effort in the kitchen on the weekend so you don’t waste that gym time with shit food.

Here is what I made tonight and it only took me about 30 minutes to make.

My wife always keeps these sausages in the house. They are super clean and really tasty. When she sees them on sale at Sprouts she buys almost all of the packages they have and we freeze them.

20141101_174644_resized

Here are the ingredients. No soy, no nitrates and no sugar. Just food.

20141101_174629_resized

We had dinner shortly before I started cooking and I used the same skillet my wife used to make some steak and gravy (all Paleo, of course). I didn’t bother cleaning it because the gravy was soooo good I might as well reuse some of those flavors. I cook the sausage just long enough to get a slight bit of crisp on them. I was going to cook the entire thing in the oven anyway, so if they didn’t cook fully they would in the oven in a bit.

 

20141101_174428_resized

Here are the vegetables we had left in the house (wife is shopping as I write this). A full pack of mushrooms, left over olives from this morning, some peas, nearly a full onion and half of a green pepper. All of those were chopped up and set aside for when the sausage was finished cooking.

 

20141101_174446_resized

When the sausage was done I pulled it out of the pan. The sausage was sticking ever so slightly to the pan so I added a bit of olive oil to the pan to grease it up and ensure the quiche didn’t stick (and it helps sautee the veggies).

 

20141101_175504_resized

Another dish leftover from dinner. Instead of potatoes with the steak and gravy my wife “mashed” cauliflower. I reused the bowl she used to prep the cauliflower. Hey, a little cauliflower never hurt anyone, right? besides, why get another dish dirty? I’m lazy and I like to conserve water when possible. We only have 11 eggs left, so they were all mine. I put them in the bowl and whisked them until they were broken up really well. I want them to evenly pour over the veggies in the pan.

 

20141101_175701_resized

Before I put thee eggs in the pan I chopped up the sausage and put it back in the pan and mixed them together with the veggies. I let all of that cook for about 3-5 minutes, mixing once or twice, before pouring the eggs over the mixture.

 

20141101_180110_resized

Here is what it looked like after the eggs were poured into the pan. And, by the way, I had preheated the oven to 450. That way I can take the pan right off of the oven top and put it into the oven.

 

20141101_180157_resized

When the eggs were starting to brown on top I pulled them out of the oven. I cooked it at 450 degrees for about 16 or 17 minutes. I checked it frequently as I don’t want it to burn, but I definitely want it to brown on top. This ensures the egg is cooked all the way through.

 

20141101_181950_resized

Here is the quiche in Tupperware containers and ready for the fridge. I will take these along with a guacamole cup Monday thru Thursday this week. On Friday we will have other leftovers that I can take for breakfast. For lunch this week I am going to make it simple and take a big salad mixture everyday along with some clean brat/sausage links we found at Costco. I will cook those on the grill tomorrow evening.

 

20141101_182355_resized

Prepping for the week is easy, as long as you plan. And if you plan you will not fail, but if you fail to plan…you will…or whatever. Damn, I just butchered the crap out of that saying, didn’t I?

One comment on “Making a quiche using whatever I have in the kitchen

  1. mekkiec says:

    Looks great! I love when I can come up with something delicious out of whatever I can “scare up”. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

