24 Hour Fitness Fails

I still hold onto my 24 Hour Fitness membership because it is only $14 a month and I do use it from time to time. Like during the colder months when I play in a billiards league I don’t go home between work and my league (I live in the opposite direction of where I play pool so going home doesn’t make sense). This gives me a few hours to burn between work and league and I usually go to the gym. A few weeks ago I started doing supplementary movements to help work on my squat and deadlift totals.

I try not to hate too much, but since CrossFit always takes a punch to the gut I think 24 Hour needs to also (and, really, probably all Globo gyms).

These two videos are from a few weeks ago. I missed two GOLDEN GEMS last week. A 24 Hour Fitness trainer, whose arms were about as big as my thighs, was trying to coach his client on a power clean and overhead squat. It was horrifying. His demo of the power clean was a reverse curl from his toes, essentially. No dip in the catch, weight on his toes, no “scarecrow” and all curl. While it was impressive how light he made 95 pounds look for a reverse curl, his power clean form was atrocious to say the least. Then he tried to coach an overhead squat. He put the same 95 pounds overhead without issue (probably could have done so with one hand), but when he tried to squat – OUCH!. Again, back to all toes and he only got MAYBE to a quarter depth before he hit his end of range of motion. He couldn’t even get near parallel without struggling. His shoulder, hip, ankle…well… entire body mobility was pathetic. He took three attempts at squatting the weight and all three resulted with him dumping the weight forward from about a quarter squat, before he ditched the idea of his client trying.

Just the perfect example of how bad training can be anywhere you go – not just at CrossFit gyms.

Anyway, on to the two videos I DID get. The first is of a guy doing curls in the squat rack. No matter how much you curl it isn’t right (and he is only doing 95 pounds). The second is a short video of a girl doing “leg presses” on a machine. This is a short video, but she did this same movement for, no joke, about 10 minutes straight. She was on her phone typing away and doing these “presses” for 10 minutes.

And

The last video I got was a guy doing bench. He had a good weight on the barbell, I think it was about 275, and he was doing quite a few reps, maybe five or six. The set just before this he struggled on his fourth of fifth rep and went for one more and got stuck. When the barbell came crashing back down on his chest I ran over to help him pull/push it back onto the rack, but he waved me off and lowered one side of the barbell to drop a few plates, then the other side to drop a few plates and then the barbell almost flipped back to the other side with the 45’s on it, but he caught it. He finally got it off of himself and cleaned up the weights he dumped. Then he put it all back on and went back to work. Since he didn’t want my help when he was stuck under the bar I figured I would get out the popcorn and my phone to record the hilarity that would ensue.

Unfortunately I was blocked by another guy who watched him fail the set before and he jumped in to help. Apparently his help was wanted, so I didn’t get the failure even though he was headed back down the same path. Speaking of not being safe (typical CrossFit diss)…benching without a spotter with weight you will fail with. Hello possible neck injuries.

I hope to get some better videos in coming weeks. I could make a “24 Hour Fitness Fails” video to counter all the CrossFit fails videos. At least mine is honest in that all videos were taken at 24 Hour Fitness whereas the CrossFit fail videos typically include videos of people doing pullups on some shitty pullup bar hanging from their bedroom closet.

Leave a Reply

