Box Review: CrossFit 630

20150610_050837_resizedWhile the family was in Chicago we stayed on the very outter edge to the west of downtown Chicago in Naperville. There weren’t many CrossFit boxes really close to choose from, but I decided to visit two different ones while in town. The first one I visited was CrossFit 630.

Their space was a bit smaller than expected. It was in an “L” shape and the ceilings were super high as they were in an industrial space, but a decent chunk of space was used for restrooms and an office – or so it appeared. I still think they probably had plenty of space to hold two classes. There was an area that could be used for warming up when you first entered through their bay door and around the corner there was their rack and weights where they could do their metcons.

It was pretty apparent that they were in a state of transition in terms of where their front desk was located and other general furniture type moving. The coach that morning couldn’t find what he was looking for – which is OK, really, and it is understandable as all gyms at some point are going to move things around to better their member experience and when this happens it is bound to be a bit bumpy. As long as in the end their member experience in better it is all good.

This class was by far the smallest of my trip. It was their 6am or 6:30am class (only class in the morning) and it was myself and three other individuals. We went through the warmup together and then went over the Burgener warmup as the WOD for the day was “Randy”. It was a pretty good warmup and I like to see time set aside for instruction, especially as the three members working out with me were fairly new to CrossFit and needed the instruction on the snatch.

Love this quote by Sherwood

Love this quote by Sherwood

After the warmup we walked back to the rig, got out our bars and got ready for Randy. I finished well ahead of the other members and even had the second best time according to their record board (which, at just over 4 minutes for my Randy tells me that the gym is still fairly new because a 4 minute Randy isn’t THAT good).

After Randy we got out the bench and found our max bench. If you know me you know I LOVE this. As a guy who did a TON of “chest and tri’s” at 24 Hour Fitness for years I love a good chest day.

All and all I wasn’t super excited about my experience at 630 or disappointed. It was a good class and the coach was nice, but the overall energy was a bit low. Could have just been the class size. I know I have plenty of days when I am coaching and the class is smaller and running around pumping everyone up is a struggle.

Leave a Reply

