To abort or continue? More diet talk.

It has been about two weeks since I started eating 3,400 calories a day, regardless of activity level.

It sure feels a lot longer than two weeks, but two weeks ago I wrote this blog post about eating more and changing my carb/fat/pro intake levels.

This morning I weighed myself and I weigh just over 219 pounds. That scares me. That is four pounds more than I weighed when I had my body fat tested about two and a half weeks ago and about 13 pounds more than I weighed when I did the Pound for Pound competition in early October.

I have always said that I don’t want to wake up one morning and weigh 220 or 230 pounds again. Before I started tampering with my nutrition I weighed in under 210 pounds everyday. Sometimes around 205 or less.

I need to write to give myself some perspective and put my thoughts on paper.

  • It’s only 15 pounds, at most, since I started eating more and that date spans back to early August. So I have gained about 12-15 pounds in four months. Is that too much? I know from a recent test that about four pounds of that weight gain is lean mass.
  • I just went on a vacation and we just passed Thanksgiving weekend – I could easily drop a few pounds by just returning to eating normal.
  • I feel pretty good at the gym.
  • Some of my clothes have felt a little bit tighter.
  • I don’t think I see a change in how I look in the mirror. If anything, I actually felt like I looked leaner this morning BEFORE I stepped on the scale.
  • I feel better – healthier. I don’t have as many little nagging injuries. Tomorrow I will attempt 15.3 again for the first time since I did it last March in Arizona and hurt my shoulder – an injury that seemingly has only gotten better once I started eating more – and eating more carbs. Prior to August my shoulder was still bad, add in more calories and carbs and it has gotten better.

I am really, REALLY tempted to bump my calories per day down from 3,400 to 3,200…but it’s only been two weeks.

I have noticed at night I sometimes feel like I need to eat something just to eat – not because I am hungry – to get to my caloric and macro goals. If I dropped a few hundred calories per day I feel that wouldn’t happen as often.

I did some calculations based on the information provided on prepareandexecute.com and if I am a “1 times a day metcon” guy and want to weigh 190 pounds I should be eating about 3,050 calories a day. If I assume the same level of activity but want to weigh 200 pounds then it jumps up to just over 3,400 calories per day.

If I assume “competitor level” of activity (not Games level, but between metcon guy and Games level guy) and want to weigh 190 I should eat 3,200 calories per day and if I want to weigh 200 pounds then it jumps way up to 3,600 calories per day.

So I think either 3,200 or 3,400 is right. After two weeks and Thanksgiving and a vacation do I change or do I stick with it for another month?

I think I am going to drop. With the caveat that if I am really hungry at night I will eat a few hundred extra calories. I think most days 3,200 calories will be plenty.

I am scared of the scale, what can I say? I know I am not supposed to look, but I also know that I should weigh closer to 200 pounds than 220 for my height. If I was six foot tall or taller I would be OK with 220 pounds, but at about five-nine I think it is too much.

Change in diet documented. Again. More to come, I’m sure.

One comment on “To abort or continue? More diet talk.

  1. […] two blog posts I wrote about this same time last year. Blog post from November 17th, 2015 and blog post from November 30th, 2015. Both talk about eating more and having positive results. Although one does talk about gaining […]

Leave a Reply

