CrossFit Games predictions and who I want to win/lose

Time to start geeking out! The CrossFit Games start tomorrow (for those not between the ages of 19 and 40).

Thanks to Netflix I just watched the “Fittest on Earth” last night. Just finished watching the epic 2 hour documentary on the California Regional on YouTube and now my attention is turned to my schedule – how much of the 2016 CrossFit Games can I watch live vs watching later on video? The more the better if you ask me…but I have a going away party on Sunday and my last baseball game on Saturday. Both of those will seriously impede my CrossFit Games watching schedule.

As I watched the Fittest on Earth last night I remembered why I can’t root for Camille LeBlanc-Bazinet – she is just too entitled. Sure those no-reps on her snatches were close, but when that happens you have to move on. Not throw a temper tantrum and cry like a four year old at the finish line. Suck it up and move on. Happens in every sport. Kara Webb on the other hand? Would love to see her win.

So who do I want to see win or do well? On the ladies side I would love to see Webb, Margaux Alvarez and Becca Voigt all do well. They seem like some of the ladies that would be the most fun to hangout with. Down to Earth, positive and just cool.

No, I’m not rooting for any of the ladies (to which there are quite a few) that I think are hot. Brooke Wells, Sara Sigmundsdottir and Stacie Tovar are all pretty hot, but I couldn’t really care how they place.

I would love to see a really strong showing from Sam Briggs. I find it hard to believe that she isn’t the fittest women on Earth just because she can’t lift as much as the others. When you watch her do any event that requires lung capacity and “grunt work” she usually not only wins, she wins by a wide margin. She just doesn’t have the body type to move heavy weight. Has nothing to do with her work ethic or her training, she just isn’t going to be able to deadlift, squat and push as much weight as the other ladies. Much the same as why almost ALL of the males are 5’10” and under. Sure CrossFit is testing fitness, but it seems that this sport really favors a very particular body type in both males and females. I’m guessing Lebron James is pretty fit, but he could never win the CrossFit Games due to his measurements.

Women I don’t want to see do well? CLB is at the top of the list. The only other one is Chyna Cho and I think the only reason I would root against her is because she always types in all caps on her social media and since I am an IT person by trade it feels like she is always yelling and typing in all caps is a pet peeve of mine. Pretty lame reason not to root for someone…

As for the men? I would love to see Josh Bridges win it all. That guy is too funny. Would also love to see a “smaller” guy win it all. As for the opposite end of that spectrum, same goes for Spencer Hendel – love to see a “big guy” win it. Anyone other than another 5’8″ – 5’10” 190’ish pound guy. Would also love to see Lucas Parker win it all, because, who wouldn’t? That beard? All that body hair? His humor. His pre-lift routines. So awesome. Also really like Sam Dancer because he is freaky strong and does absolutely amazing things with individuals with various disabilities. He has a huge heart and would love to see that rewarded.

As for those who I would root against? Christian Lucero leads that list. Some of the secondhand stories I have heard from when he was in Colorado – why he left Backcountry CrossFit and CrossFit Unbroken. He seems like the kind of guy who says nice things and then turns around and does just for himself. Again, this is just the feels I get from social media and stories, never met the guy. Other than Lucero, maybe I would root against Noah Olsen and Roy Gamboa of all people…but…don’t ask me why. I don’t have a solid reason. I don’t want to say that I dislike either of these two, but I just can’t see myself rooting for them.

On the teams side? I am only rooting against one team: Team Dynamix. I can’t stand Andrea Ager for the same reasons I mentioned for CLB above. I have also seen quite a few instances where she is way too entitled in person when she was in Colorado. I have written about her in the past and why I don’t like her. I have to root for the local teams: Backcountry and CrossFit Omnia. I guess I would root for Mayhem, but not because of Rich Froning but because I like Lindy Barber and her story and the fact that Elly Kabboord can take all that crap from that team and still laugh and smile makes her endearing.

My predictions:

Women
First: Kara Webb
Second: Emily Bridgers
Third: Sam Briggs
Fourth: Sara Sigmundsdottir
Fifth: Margaux Alvarez

Men
First: Mat Fraser
Second: Ben Smith
Third: Josh Bridges
Fourth: Scott Panchik
Fifth: Jacob Heppner

Teams
First: Mayhem Freedom
Second: Invictus
Third: CrossFit Overtake
Fourth: Dynamix
Fifth: CrossFit Fort Vancouver

Bring on the hours and hours of watching CrossFit on the internet! (And getting really upset when they show it only on ESPN and they don’t show all of the heats…)

One comment on “CrossFit Games predictions and who I want to win/lose

  1. […] First, let me get out of the way how stupid I am. Here were my predictions before the Games started: […]

Leave a Reply

