Battle at the Rock, year 4, my strategy

This will be my fourth year doing the Battle of the Rock. It is a great event, run very well and the competition is tough.

As I have done in the past I am going to try to write down my strategy and guessestimate how I will do on each of the WODs. Three of the WODs were announced last night and the floater isn’t announced until Friday evening.

WOD 1:
This is two parts, but scored three times.
Part 1 carries a 4-6-8 rep scheme of deadlifts and box jump overs (or on and overs). There are three sets of 4-6-8 with each set having a heavier deadlift. The first set is at 135, second set at 185 and third set at 225. I will perform 4-6-8 of deadlifts (135) and box jump on and overs (24) immediately followed by the same scheme but using 185 for deadlift. Then repeat a third time using 225 for the deadlift. That has a seven minute cap.

Part 2 is simple: 40 bar facing burpees. This has a five minute cap and the entire event has a 12 minute cap.

The 4-6-8 part is one score, the 40 burpees are another score and the time it takes to do all of the work is a third score. This is quite the workout to start out with and score three times.

If I had to venture it will take me about 90 seconds to do the first set of 4-6-8 and not much longer for the second set. My back has not been happy leading into this event so if it holds up the last one shouldn’t take too long, either. I should finish under seven minutes pretty easily (well, maybe not easily, but with time to spare, this will hurt).

I think my strategy here will be to try to keep a nice, even, semi-hard pace. I won’t sprint out of the box and try to keep a nice pace. I fear if I sprint out of the box I will be gassed by the time I get to the middle of the 185 round and definitely be gassed by 225. Not to mention when I get my first burpee. I would rather go steady and try to finish the first part in about six minutes and then get the burpees done quickly – I think I can go faster here with little rest. My goal will be to complete the entire thing in less than nine minutes.

WOD2:
800m run, 30 KBS (53), 15 thrusters (95), 30 pull ups, 15 thrusters and 30 KBS
The run is going to probably take me longer than most and then there isn’t enough work in there to allow me time to catch up. I know 800m, especially with the hill I think we will have to run up to finish the run, will take me close to 3:30-4 minutes. I think I can do the KBS unbroken and with a few deep breaths I can do the thrusters unbroken, too. Hopefully I catch up a little bit there. The pull ups I will try to plow through. It is a small enough set that I will do as many as possible to begin and then keep my breaks short – even if that means small sets. This has a 12 minute cap and I should finish in time.

800m worse case is 4 minutes, about 1 minute for KBS and maybe another minute for thrusters puts me at 6 minutes. The pull ups should take 2 minutes at the very most with another few minutes of thrusters and KBS puts me around the 10 minute mark for this workout. I’m going to try to keep my transitions short and push on the pull ups and try for 9 minutes on this WOD, too.

WOD3:
This is a repeat from my first year competing. We have three minutes to complete “Grace” and with the remaining time do as many double unders as possible. The funny thing is that just the other day I felt like redoing this WOD. I didn’t, but I had planned on redoing it after the competition.

When I did this in 2013 it took me 2:35 to complete Grace and I only got eight double unders. My PR now on Grace is 1:49 – but I won’t shoot for that. Assuming my back feels good I will try to get at least 10 reps of Grace unbroken to start – hopefully 15. Then do quick singles to finish and hope to finish in less than two minutes. Considering how taxing Grace is, but how much better my DUBs are then they were a 3 years ago I hope to get 50+ reps in for my double unders. If I have a minute I hope I can rally and keep the side stitches to a minimum and get a bunch of DUBs unbroken. And that is the key – get a bunch  UB. If I can get a set of 30 to begin that should only take me about 20 seconds. Leaving me another 20-30 seconds to get more. I look forward to redoing this workout.

Those are three really challenging workouts and I look forward to the day. It will be a lot of fun!

 

…. I wonder what the floater will be? In the past it has been a very short sprint of sorts. Maybe this year it will be something heavy since none of the workouts have any heavy weight in them.

Leave a Reply

