I hate off-season competitions

I mean, I like them, but I hate them. The CrossFit Games season is over and you are left twiddling your thumbs at your computer wanting to watch more. You wake up everyday, and sit in front of your computer all day long. In your bathrobe you sit and eat oatmeal all day, unshaven, waiting for more CrossFit action. And then it finally comes in the form of off-season competitions like the Granite Games and Wodapalooza.

These two competitions are just the start of the off-season, there are many more to come all over the world ranging from Dubai to Switzerland. These competitions attract some of the biggest names in CrossFit.

The Granite Games had Patrick Vellner (4th at this years Games), Brooke Wells (14th at the Games) and fan favorites like Sam Dancer competing. Vellner is competing again in Switzerland with Lindy Barber (one of the ladies on Team CrossFit Mayhem with Rich Froning). The Dubai Fitness Comp had Ben and Alec Smith competing last year, Sam Briggs and Annie Thorisdottir to name just a few. Oh, ya, and the reigning Fittest Man on Earth, Mat Fraser was also in Dubai competing for $75,000 (I think is how much the winning pro male and female won).

Why would I hate these competitions? Well, in most of these competitions the big name athletes compete on teams. Teams with their sponsors name on it as a way to advertise. They aren’t competing individually (the Dubai comp they do). I don’t care that they are competing for a company and marketing – they have to pay their bills. What I do hate is that I can’t easily tell who is on which team when I look at leaderboards. Here is the male pro team leaderboard from Minnesota this past weekend:

Capture

Who is on “Bilingual Bandits”?? I actually do know the answer to this because Vellner made sure to post often from the competition, but I would like to know who made up the Opex – Elite Team, for example. As someone who used to follow OPT programming when it was free I am still curious and follow some of the names who train in Phoenix. I’m guessing “Kill Cliff” from QTown CrossFit is Sam Dancer and Jared Stevens just because I know Dancer owns Qtown.

Same goes on the ladies side. Would love to know which ladies make up which teams. And the same will apply this weekend in Switzerland. In a month or so in Miami I will be left hunting trying to figure out which athletes are on which pro team. When Kill Cliff has it’s big competition in Boston early in the new year….same thing. These competitions need to do a better job letting spectators know who is on which team. I think in the long run it would definitely attract more eyeballs to the comp. For the benefit of the comp itself that is trying to sell tickets to Floelite who seems to “broadcast” all of these competitions – knowing who is competing and being able to root for teams would make it more likely that individuals would pay to watch.

As it stands I don’t know if I want Team Fitchalk to win…who am I rooting for??

PS: Am I the only one who has gone through seven very large boxes of Quaker Oats from Costco since the end of the Games??

Leave a Reply

